

Carlotta Award 2018

The Carlotta Award is established on the occasion of the 150th anniversary of Carlotta Parisani Strampelli's birth (1868-2018) in recognition of the significant contribution of women scientists to the advancement of knowledge in the field of wheat genetics and breeding research.

The Carlotta Award is promoted by the Accademia Nazionale delle Scienze detta dei XL, ENEA- the Italian National Agency for New Technologies, Energy and Sustainable Economic Development and the International Federation of Business and Professional Women-ITALY (FIDAPA BPW Italy).

The first 2018 Edition of the Award will be hosted in Italy where Carlotta Strampelli operated, in the hope that in the following editions the Carlotta Award will be based in a different Country with the support of the International Scientific Community and become a recognized International Award that honors successful women in wheats research. The Carlotta Award 2018 will be delivered in the frame of the "Wheats & Women" International Conference, to be held in Rome, on June 14th and 15th 2018.

Brief biography of Carlotta Parisani Strampelli

Carlotta Parisani (1868-1926), daughter of Count Giuseppe Parisani and Princess Emilia Gabrielli, married Nazareno Strampelli on April 28, 1900 in Rome. They settled in Camerino, where Nazzareno was teaching agronomy and three years later moved to Rieti with a two years old daughter and pregnancy in progress. Nazzareno had accepted one of the so-called itinerant chairs in agriculture and experienced at first a very hard period which Nazzareno overcame with Carlotta's help and support that was not limited to their family life, but was central to Nazzareno's scientific work as Carlotta devised new pollination techniques and performing most hybridization crosses herself. Nazzareno recognized this most valuable, continuing contribution to his work, by naming "Carlotta Strampelli" his first released variety, and "Carlottina bianca" and "Carlottina rossa" two additional ones in later years. Indeed, Carlotta Strampelli, whose initial support to Nazzareno's work had solely a technical character, became a true scientist, but was overshadowed by the increasing attention given to her husband. Carlotta, an intelligent and educated woman, is a proof of the significant role played by women to wheats genetics and breeding new, high productive varieties of wheat. Carlotta was a person of great earnestness and abnegation, of unquestionable quality and capacity, ranging from the technical abilities to the most rational ones. In brief, Carlotta was a fascinating woman. It is time to acknowledge her distinction through a public Award.

Applications for the Carlotta Award 2018 must be sent no later than **February 15th, 2018** by filling the forms to be downloaded from the website www.wheatswomen-carlotta2018.com and sending the submission letter, the scientific work presentation and the brief Curriculum Vitae to: Carlotta Award Organizing Committee c/o Accademia Nazionale delle Scienze detta dei XL – Via L. Spallanzani 5 - 00161 Roma or by email wheatsandwomen@accademiaxl.it

Carlotta Award 2018 Jury

Hélène Berges French Plant Genomic Resource Center, INRA

Paola Bonfante Accademia Lincei, Torino University, IT Emilia Chiancone Accademia delle Scienze detta dei XL, IT

Kellye Eversole IWGSC Coordinator and Executive Director (USA)

Patrizia Galeffi ENEA, Rome, IT/FIDAPA

Wendy Harwood JIC-Norwich, UK

Elisabetta Lupotto CREA, IT

Stefania Masci Tuscia University, IT Monica Mezzalama CIMMYT, MX

Conxita Royo Chief of Wheat Breeding Program, IRTA, ES

Scientific Committee

Amedeo Alpi Pisa University and Accademia Nazionale Scienze dei XL, IT

Paola Bonfante Accademia Lincei, Torino University, IT

Emilia Chiancone Accademia Nazionale delle Scienze detta dei XL, IT

Patrizia Galeffi ENEA, Rome, IT/FIDAPA

Simon Griffiths JIC-Norwich, UK

Peter Langridge International Wheat Initiative Chair/Adelaide University, AU

Marina Carcea CREA, IT

Enrico Porceddu Accademia Nazionale delle Scienze detta dei XL, IT

Matthew Reynolds CIMMYT, MX

Conxita Royo Chief of Wheat Breeding Program, IRTA, ES

Roberto Tuberosa Bologna University, IT

Local Organizing Committee:

Giuseppina Del Signore ENEA, IT

Giulia Trimani Accademia Nazionale delle Scienze detta dei XL

Cristina Cordajski Visconti FIDAPA/FAO, IT

Promoted by:









With the patronage of:











www.wheatswomen-carlotta2018.com